Idol Time PriPara Episode 2: Can Ya Dig It?

[Ohys-Raws] Idol Time PriPara - 02 (TX 1280x720 x264 AAC).mp4_snapshot_02.14_[2017.04.11_14.30.39]

Is there any song that can better capture the essence of PriPara besides Make it!? Sure, everyone has their own favorite PriPara song and even I have a few I prefer over it but have any of them reached the iconic level that Make it! has established within the series? Like I mentioned in my thoughts for Idol Time episode one, it is the kind of song that can get any PriPara fan up from their seat. Even when it comes to i☆Ris discography, Make it! has kind of become the default association.

I had some reservations when it came to this episode but they all melted away when Laala Manaka got on the stage and busted out a new remix version of Make it!. It’s the perfect solution, really. Feeling happy? Play Make it!. Feeling sad? Play Make it!. Feeling worried about the direction an episode is heading? Play Make it! and blast it at full volume because nothing else matters now.

Bringing back Make it! but as a remixed version is a good example of a reboot taking something from its predecessor and turning it into its own thing. As to where that leaves the rest of this episode . . .

[Ohys-Raws] Idol Time PriPara - 02 (TX 1280x720 x264 AAC).mp4_snapshot_05.21_[2017.04.11_14.32.26]

Remember last episodes mini-rant about Gloria’s identical twin cousin? Remember how in all that I at least took solace in the fact that Bavaria doesn’t seem to have an anti-PriPara bias like season one Gloria? Well, time to throw Jururu out with the bathwater because we have some plot to retread!

Okay, Paparajuku peeps, we get it. Idolhood is just for boys and girls shouldn’t even bother trying. Look, I get that the gender war is going to be a big deal going forward for this show and I welcome that I honestly do (as long as it involves making boys cry. Hey, I never said I didn’t have a sadistic streak). But right now I’m being beaten over the head with a plot stick and its only two episodes in.

Am I being overly harsh with Idol Time? I really do enjoy a lot about this show so far and at its core its still the same old PriPara spirit. OG!PriPara got its hooks into me very early and quickly joined the ranks of those shows I can’t imagine my life without. Am I putting too much emotional stock in a kids show? Maybe, but that fits in with every other show marketed to kids that I’ve fallen in love with. I’m an animation girl after all and the pickings are slim when it comes to demographics.

[Ohys-Raws] Idol Time PriPara - 02 (TX 1280x720 x264 AAC).mp4_snapshot_10.14_[2017.04.11_14.30.01]

From this point forward I’m gonna try to be more positive but when there’s something that gets my blood boiling I can’t help but get passionately aggressive.

I could go on for days about my love for Laala and when all of OG!PriPara finally gets subbed you bet your friend tickets I’m going to have a lot to word about when it comes to her. For now, I’m content with gushing about her in regards to Idol Time.

Much like me and the language barrier, Laala would never let some jank No PriPara rule stop her from getting her PriPara on and the same is true in Paparajuku. So, she uses the tunnel the cheerleader girls built to sneak into DanPri (Like PriPara, DanPri doesn’t let the opposite gender in to even watch performances which is a thing that continues to baffle me because why not make allowances for guests but forget it Jake, its PriPara Town) to make her own secret tunnel to Prism Stone. Watching Laala determinedly pickax into PriPara by herself would have enough for me but then Yui, Anna, and Suzu get into the tunneling party action and then the cheerleaders help out a bit and its like gosh I wish I could hug all of y’all.

Music Corner

Insert

How many more versions of Make it! do I really need on my mp3 player? I already have the i☆Ris version, the SoLaMi Dressing version, the SoLaMi Dressing&Saints version, the SoLaMi Dressing&Falulu version, the korean version, and once they come out I’ll probably add the Laala&Nao and SoLaMi Smile versions, too. Take all those together and that’s seven different versions of the same song. Do I really need to add another one?

There are only two answers to this question and they are “Hell yes!” and “Of course I do!”

At least in this case, its something a little different. The remix instrumental threw me off at first but I came around fast. It’s got a slightly rockier, more electronic beat that better matches Laala’s high-pitched vocals. That guitar riff at the end! The faster I can get a studio recording of this the happier I will be.

There’s not much I can say about the choreography because its the same as its always been with this song and the Making Drama is a repeat as well but that’s no strike against the performance as a whole. The coord Laala uses is probably my favorite of all the SoLaMi Smile team coords we’ve seen so far.

Because I am biased as hell: 10/10

[Ohys-Raws] Idol Time PriPara - 02 (TX 1280x720 x264 AAC).mp4_snapshot_15.50_[2017.04.11_14.30.14]

Bits and Pieces

  • Laala’s idol performance has blown away all the Yui doesn’t believe Laala’s a Kami Idol stuff so we won’t have to deal with that anymore thankfully. Which really begs the question of why we’re going with this “small Laala” in PriPara at all? Eh, whatever you think will sell better T-Arts.
  • Instead we get a new Yui misunderstanding. Yui thinks Laala’s parents are dead and she’s been sent away by an evil fairy tale style villain. I guess the running gag going forward will be Yui zoning out when Laala’s explaining stuff and getting the completely wrong impression.
  • Mirei cameo! Its confirmed at the top of the episode that SoLaMi Smile has temporarily split to prepare new PriParas. Laala still refers to Minami as Head Disciplinarian which is so Laala it hurts. Titles and descriptions for the next few episodes have been leaked by magazines and I won’t go too far into detail but we should be seeing a bit more Mirei in the future.
  • That still leaves the rest of the idols. I don’t want to spend the whole series until her next appearance saying, “Where’s Shion?” but seriously guys where is Shion?
  • SMC-Subs has done the first episode of Idol Time. If they can keep up a consistent schedule, great, but by this point I’ve gotten so used to watching PriPara without subs so I don’t know if I’ll be using those much.
  • From the looks of it, the first arc of Idol Time will be about turning girls one by one onto the idea of PriPara. Yui’s friends Anna and Suzu are the first two and I’m sure will soon be followed by many more girls. The end of this episode announces a new PriPara tournament in June which will probably take most of the focus for the next arc.

Two episodes down, an as yet undisclosed number of episodes to go. So far, beyond a few small things that major bug me everything’s been fine. Again, from here on out I’ll try to focus on the more happy feelings Idol Time gives me. See ya for the next round.

Leave a Reply

