Anime

Winter 2017 Anime: I Make No Promises

A new year and a new anime season. What better time to start a blog? cough cough Sorry, there’s something in my throat. Where was I? Oh, right.

So my picks for Fall 2016 ended up steering a little too far into the dark and angsty direction. Of course, considering my two picks were Magical Girl Death Match and World War II Guest Starring Witches maybe I should have seen it coming.

This time I’m swinging the pendulum the other way and crossing my fingers for something lighter. Usually, I stick to two anime per season that most grab my attention but I decided I’m going to push it a bit further and pick three. And those three are:

Gabriel DropOut
PV

Angels are among us and apparently they come in Cute Anime Girl form. Famous angel Gabriel has come to Earth but thanks to the pleasures of Otaku life is outright failing at it. She’s joined by other biblical-themed moe’s (what the hell is the plural of moe anyway?) as she navigates school life. What can I say? The girls look cute and I’m always up for some Doga Kobo animation.

BanG Dream!
PV

Ever since 2014 featured the double debut of Wake Up, Girls! and PriPara I’ve had an interest in idol anime. None since have quite grabbed me in the way those two have but it doesn’t stop me from continuing to try. Much like WUG, the lines between real and fictional are blurred here as BanG Dream is based off a fictional band portrayed by seiyuus acting in character. I’m hoping to find an idol anime here that will draw me in with both story and music but I’ll settle for at least having a good time.

Masamune-kun’s Revenge
PV

I always try to go a little bit out of my comfort zone from time to time when it comes to anime so here’s a pick outside of the Cute Girls Doing Cute Things circle. Het Romance? Check. Male Protagonist? Check. Possible Harem on the horizon? Check. Still starring Cute Girls? Check. Wait, I think I just took a jet ride over to my other comfort zone. Well, at least it’s different from the other two.

What’s on the Backlog?

Last season I decided to start making a small dent in my 200+ Plan to Watch list on MAL by watching the first two seasons of Nanoha. It went well, so I decided to try again. My choice this time is Tokyo Mew Mew. It first came to my attention from the infamous 4Kids block and while something about the show grabbed me from day one I was never able to keep up very well with Saturday morning cartoons. Now, after even reading the manga two years back, I plan to finally plow my way through the 52 episode magical girl anime.

As usual, I’ll be continuing my travels with PriPara S3 and Aikatsu Stars!. Speaking of PriPara, Doki seems to be finally making some progress on their fansub so with any luck I’ll be able to finish season two by the time season four starts!

Will I be blogging about any of these? I’ll certainly try but I know better than to make promises to myself.

Leave a Reply

