Time to crack open the new anime season and the first of hopefully many more blog posts to come. To start, I’ll be writing up my thoughts on each premiere episode. This post will be updated with each new show as I work my way through.

[Doki] New Game! - 01 (1280x720 h264 AAC) [43C77D3E].mkv_snapshot_03.43_[2016.07.04_23.36.13]

New Game!

It’s here! It’s here! It’s finally here! The first episode of my most anticipated anime this season is finally here. Okay, I have to admit that my confidence wavered a little with that second PV (ah, my old nemesis, boob jiggle physics) but all my fears faded away after seeing everything in full. It’s always such a joy to see a manga you like animated and this was no different.

Everything is done all so seamlessly you wouldn’t have expected this to be 4-koma adaption. The first three chapters were all in tact here with a few minor additions like the standard “Introduce Every Character Even If They Weren’t In That Specific Chapter” move. And those voices! The VA work has to be my favorite part of the whole thing. Every voice actor felt pitch perfect in their roles. A huge bravo to the casting director for this one. The animation is as solid as I’ve come to expect from DogoKobo (yes, even the dreaded boob jiggle is a bit impressive) and such fun to watch.

Overall, I was very, very pleased.

[HorribleSubs] Bananya - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_00.54_[2016.07.09_13.33.10]

Bananya

At the length of 3 minutes, there isn’t much to say about this one. The cute factor is there, as expected, but that’s about all that shows up here.

[HorribleSubs] Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_00.01_[2016.07.09_13.47.43]

Fudanshi

This first episode opens up with out main character struggling to buy BL manga which is a nice starting point but is followed up with some disappointing “No-Homo” bits. The art here has a resemblance of BL manga, an interesting touch. Whether or not I’ll keep up with this one depends on how the next two episodes are handled.

[HorribleSubs] Regalia - The Three Sacred Stars - 01v2 [720p].mkv_snapshot_21.28_[2016.07.10_16.53.51]

Regalia: The Three Sacred Stars

You got moe in my mecha anime! You got mecha in my moe anime! Okay, so I’m not entirely clear on what I just watched but I am sure that I liked it. The serious action mixed with its moe-flaired character design brings to mind Nanoha, a favorite of mine. This first episode focuses on two sisters (though, as mentioned, not by blood), our main duo for the series, but this episode hints at other couplings for future episodes.

[HorribleSubs] Ange Vierge - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_06.19_[2016.07.10_17.34.16]

Ange Vierge

Fanservice! Exposition! Censorship! If you find one of these three frustrating, this might be the kind of anime you skip. I’ve grown a thicker skin against all three of these but I’ll be damned if that light beam censorship isn’t mighty annoying. Yeesh. Aside from that, the action is serviceable while the packed cast of characters currently contains no stand-outs.

Leave a Reply

