The new anime season is upon us now so it’s time to pick what I want to spend my summer watching. Above are the visuals for the anime that immediately piqued my interest and now it’s time to go over them with a finer toothed comb.

New Game!
Studio:
Doga Kobo
Director:
Yoshiyuki Fujiwara
PV

Let’s start with the anime that I’m most hyped for. I started reading the manga thanks to Doki’s scanlations and quickly fell in love with the series so when I learned New Game! would be receiving an anime adaption I knew without a doubt that I would watch. The PV’s have been nothing but promising and the series is in the hands of the director of Engaged to the Unidentified, one of my favorite anime in the past few years.

Verdict?: Definite Must Watch

Mahou Shoujo? NariaGirls

Studio: Bouncy
Director:
Koutarou Ishidate
There’s no real PV right now; just a “rehearsal video

This series popped up as a rather late addition to the anime season and the description has me both curious and shaking my head. The gimmick here is that NariaGirls is a “live anime” created by the protagonists in order to become “nationally-renowned characters.” Yeah, I’m already skeptical. Still, the idea of an anime created through user participation and utilizing motion capture is certainly an interesting concept and I’m always up for magical girl anime of any kind.

Verdict?: Maybe Watch

ReLIFE

Studio: TMS Entertainment
Director:
Satoru Kosaka
PV

I have to admit that this series wasn’t really on my radar until I learned that PUFFY, one of my favorite J-musicians, were to provide one of the several ending songs. There’s nothing about the synopsis here that really grabs me but upon reading opinions from people who have experienced the manga, I am a little more intrigued.

Verdict?: Maybe Watch

Orange

Studio: Telecom Animation Film
Director:
Hiroshi Hamasaki
PV

I first learned of Orange when Seven Seas Entertainment announced their acquisition of the manga and I’ve been interested in reading it ever since. And then soon after came the anime announcement and I became even more eager to experience the story for myself.

Verdict?: Must Watch

Taboo Tattoo

Studio: J.C.Staff
Director:
Takashi Watanabe
PV

It seems every year there’s at least one anime that grabs my attention despite of myself and this year Taboo Tattoo seems to be it. This could very quickly turn into a harem mess judging by its visual but I’ve been known to enjoy those from time to time (Hi, Absolute Duo). Still I’ll probably wait for other reactions to see if it’s worth venturing a look.

Verdict?: Maybe Watch

Kono Bijutsubu ni wa Mondai ga Aru!

Studio: feel.
Director:
Kei Oikawa
PV

This one is about an art club that doesn’t really do any club-related activities. Yeah, it’s another slice of life, after school club type anime that doesn’t seem like much to write home about but it will probably be a decent way to pass time. Plus, it has an opening by Nana Mizuki which, you know, is always good to have.

Verdict?: Maybe Watch

Amanchu!

Studio: J.C.Staff
Director:
Junichi Satou; Kenichi Kasai
PV

I don’t have much familiarity with the mangaka’s other work Aria beyond knowing it exists but I know I always have room for more anime directed by Junichi Satou.

Verdict?: Must Watch

Ange Vierge

Studio: Silver Link.
Director:
Masafumi Tamura
PV

Yeah, sure, it’s an anime based on a card game. And yeah, sure, those don’t always have the strongest track record of working out well. But it’s also an anime based on a card game with a seemingly all girls cast and, well, I have my reasons.

Verdict:? Must Watch

Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu

Studio: EMT2
Director:
Toshikatsu Tokoro
PV

I’m pretty much the exact opposite of a fundanshi (girl who loves reading about girls, here) but this anime sounds like it could be a fun watch. Plus, according to sources it seems to be a five-minute anime.

Verdict?: Maybe Watch

Regalia: The Three Sacred Stars

Studio: Actas
Director:
Shin Tosaka
PV

A MoexMecha anime, huh? Well, I don’t have much experience with Mecha but I do know Moe (well, as much as anyone can know Moe) and the combination alone is enough to grab me.

Verdict?: Must Watch

Bananya

Studio: Gathering
Director:
Kyou Yatate
PV

It’s a five minute anime about a cat who lives inside of a banana. Does that not sound like the cutest thing ever? I mean, just look at that title there. It just screams adorable. Of course, it’s a short-form anime so it all comes down to if it gets picked up for streaming but until then it’s –

Verdict?: Must Watch

Time Travel Girl

Studio: WAO World
Director:
Osamu Yamasaki
PV

I’ve read the description several times and I’m still not quite sure what to make of this one. The PV sheds a little more light and the character designs look cute but I’d need an episode or two before committing to a full season.

Verdict:? Maybe Watch

So, to recap, the series I will be following week to week are: New Game!, Orange, Ange Vierge, Regalia: The Three Sacred Stars, and Bananya (hee!). As for the rest, we’ll see how they fare later down the line. Of course, I’ll also be continuing with my beloved PriPara and that other idol anime, Aikatsu Stars!

Leave a Reply

